Arachnid: What You Should Know

Arachnids are a class of animals. They include spiders, scorpions, and mites, which in turn include ticks. Arachnids belong to the phylum Arthropods. So they are something like the siblings of insects, millipedes, and crabs.

Arachnids have two limbs. They are easy to see in the web spiders and scorpions, and in the mites, they have grown together. Each arachnid has four pairs of legs, for a total of eight legs. Insects, on the other hand, only have six legs. Most arachnids hunt and kill their prey by injecting venom.

Most arachnids live on land. The water spider is an exception. For reproduction, many arachnids have some sort of penis, which they use to transfer their sperm into the female’s body. However, some also deposit their sperm packets somewhere so that the females can pick them up.

Mary Allen

Written by Mary Allen

Hello, I'm Mary! I've cared for many pet species including dogs, cats, guinea pigs, fish, and bearded dragons. I also have ten pets of my own currently. I've written many topics in this space including how-tos, informational articles, care guides, breed guides, and more.

Leave a Reply


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One Comment

  1. I am sorting out relevant information about gate io recently, and I saw your article, and your creative ideas are of great help to me. However, I have doubts about some creative issues, can you answer them for me? I will continue to pay attention to your reply. Thanks.